Crime in the chatroom

A reading exercise for you. Two questions: (i) what is the CPS?; and (ii) what are higher court rights of audience?

There are many impostors on the internet. From time to time, I am accused of being one because I “don’t write English properly.” My accusers are Americans who do not know the differences between British and American English. For example, I was recently in a chatroom when a Spaniard wrote ‘…to practise.’ An American told her she was wrong; I said she was right. The American told me I didn’t know English and the word was ‘to practice.’ Well, okay…

If you’re learning British English, the verb is to practise and the noun is practice. An easy way to remember: “I practise law [see note 3]; I have a legal practice [see note 5].”

_____

Una lectura para tí. Dos preguntas: (i) ¿qué el CPS, y (ii) ¿qué son los higher court rights of audience?

Hay muchos impostores en el internet. De vez en cuando, se me acusa de ser uno porque “no escribo inglés correcto.” Mis acusadores son estadounidenses que no conocen las diferencias entre inglés británico y inglés estadounidense. Por ejemplo, hace unos dias estuve en un chat cuando una española escribió “…to practise.” Un estadounidense le dijo que estaba mal escrita, le dije a la española que la había escrito bien. El estadounidense me dijo que yo no sabía inglés y la palabra era “to practice“. Pues bueno…

Si estás aprendiendo inglés británico, el verbo es to practise y el sustantivo es practice. Una manera fácil de recordar “I practise law [véase la nota 3]; I have a legal practice [véase la nota 5].”

Acerca de ingles para abogados
A legally-qualified English teacher and translator living in Malaga, Spain. When I'm not working, I like eating and exploring old buildings. Spain's great for both.

Responder

